Irony

February 20, 2009

Yes, life can be ironic sometimes.

Take yesterday, for example: After spending nearly two hours the night before talking to my dad about mortgages and the sad possibility that this might not be the year for Mike & I to buy a house, I woke up freezing. Our furnace had gone out sometime during the night and the house was sitting at a balmy 50°F. Luckily, we got a hold of our landlord before he got to work and he was over within 15 minutes, calling a service technician. Fortunately, Thursday is one of Mike’s days off during the week so he was able to stay home and wait for the technician who’s ETA was 11am. I left for work, thankful to be headed someplace warm! Sometime that morning, I heard from Mike that the original technician who was scheduled to be out to our house had his work van broken into and all of his tools stolen. Mike got to revert to his “caveman” instincts and spent the day stoking our small wood-burning stove in the living room. When I got home at 5:30pm, the technician had finally just arrived and had the heat pumping within an hour.

I couldn’t help but think that if this had been our house, we would have been paying the unexpected $230 bill to have the “burners” replaced (who knew a furnace had burners?). Funny how God sends reminders like that…And of course now, we’re seriously re-considering our plans to look for a house this summer. It is hard for me to accept that renting again may be the route we take, especially when all you hear is what a great time to buy it is and how perfect our situation is since we don’t have a house we sell. Yet I guess it’s best to not get in over our heads and wait until the time is right. And maybe by some stroke of luck, we’ll find ourselves a good little foreclosure which we can make our “project.” Too bad I seem to love projects more than my husband does…

2 Responses to “Irony”

  1. beth carignan said

    Hey i had that happen to me about 3 weeks ago!! I woke up and the house was 50F!! And I had to wait for the technician till 5pm and we were lucky our furnace is newer and still under warranty we only had to pay $60! I think I like the projects more than tom too!

  2. Mike said

    Wait… I’m your husband!!! I thought I was your favorite project!

Leave a Reply

